CicLAvia Story: The Joy of Riding a Bike Around L.A.

January 20, 2011 at 1:10 pm Leave a comment

Car-free Angeleno and newly-minted cyclist Jung Gatoona

Today CicLAvia presents a guest post, a first-person story from Jung Gatoona, a graphic designer and self-proclaimed “car-free Angeleno” who lives in Downtown Los Angeles.

In a September 2010 interview at Metro’s The Source blog, Gatoona stated “I choose to be without a car, even under the pressure from parents and friends, who often tell me to get a car and drive again. I love L.A.’s growing public transit system” At that time Gatoona just rode trains and buses and walked… but things changed for him in October:

On October 10, 2010, I received my very own bicycle as a birthday gift from my dad. Coincidentally, this was also the day Los Angeles had its first CicLAvia, which I happily attended, and biked the event’s route back and forth at least two times to test out my new bike.

It was a wonderful and new experience for me. Since that day, I’ve been biking all around Los Angeles, specifically from Downtown Los Angeles to Santa Monica everyday, in attempts to live a greener commuting lifestyle.

I’ll admit from all that biking over the past months that it’s not the easiest and safest thing in the world to do, but it’s a lifestyle I enjoy and was inspired to live after seeing from CicLAvia just how amazing my city of Angeles could be, if people took back the streets. That day’s image of hundreds of cyclists and pedestrians with smiles on their faces roaming the streets without concern, instead of the usual smog spitting cars congesting it, is something I will always remember and treasure forever.

If it had not been for CicLAvia to show me how great and easy riding a bike around Los Angeles is, my bike would probably be lying unused in the garage today. I can’t wait for the next CicLAvia event to come so I can show my family and friends, the joy of riding a bike around LA.

Did CicLAvia change the way you get around L.A.? If so, let us know in the comments below.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Contribute to CicLAvia Kickstarter by this Friday New CYCLE LA VIA Mural on Sunset

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect with us

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog by email.

Join 341 other followers

CicLAvia Photos

#cicLAvia #losangeles #bikeLA #bicycle #wiltern @ciclavia

DSC03437

DSC03434

DSC03438

DSC03440

More Photos

LACBC River Ride

Click to sign-up for the River Ride!

Borrow a Bike for CicLAvia!

What will you do at CicLAvia?

Check our Meetup page for events along the route, or add your own event. #CicLAviaMup

Twitter Updates


